Quilled Fire Bowl

Quilled Fire Bowl

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (25)

I completed this project along with several others over the last few months.  My time has been so short I have not been able to keep the blog updated.  I have a goal to get a post up for all my completed works…..that is six posts plus complete and post a work in progress….before the end of the year.  So without further ado….

The Quilled Fire Bowl

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (1a) (3)

I completed the bowl this summer.  It was my first attempt at a quilled bowl and was born of pieces left off an abandoned project ‘Fall Color Mosaic’.

  Fall Color Quilling (2)  Fall Color Inspired Mosaic (1)

The idea for the ‘Fall Color Mosaic’ project was to print out one of my photos of trees in fall color in the U.P. of Michigan.  Then cover it with a mosaic of various sized teardrop shaped quilled pieces.  I created hundreds of quilled teardrops in various shades of red, orange, yellow, green and brown.  I attached about 75 pieces and did not like the way it looked.  I stopped and saved the hundreds of colored pieces for another project.  They sat dormant for about 6 months, I would open the box containing the organized pieces, look and them and draw a blank.  Then, this summer I was looking at the red, orange and yellow pieces and thought… those are the colors of fire…

Fire Bowl!

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (22) Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (21)

I started by laying out all my yellow pieces and formed them into a flat pattern on parchment paper.  I then glued the pieces pining them in place until the glue dried.

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (2) Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (4)

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (5) Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (6)

Next I utilized a 6-inch foam ball as a form and pined the work in place.

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (3) Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (7)

After that I laid out the pieces row by row and built up the bowl

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (8) Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (9)

 Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (10) Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (11)

 

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (12)

 

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (13)

 

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (14) Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (15)

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (16) Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (17)

After all the rows were attached I removed the remaining pins.  Then carefully removed it from the form.

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (20) Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (19)

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (21)

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (24)

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (22)

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (25)Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (26)

Quilled Fire Bowl Papermarksquilling (1a) (2)

I was also honored to win a 1st place blue ribbon at our County Fair for this project.  It was entered in the category of ‘Decorative Object’.

Prior Projects:

‘Mardi Gras Mask’

‘Rolling Stones Logo’

‘Quilled Purple Swirls’

‘Black and White Quilled Spiral’

‘Paper Quilling on a Wooden Box’

‘Purple and Silver Quilled Heart Frame’

‘Quilled Supernova’

‘MST3K Quilled Servo’  ‘MST3K Quilled Crow’

 If you like my work please like my Facebook page at:

https://www.facebook.com/papermarksquillingblog

If you have time please check out my travel photography blog at:

http://photomarks.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

